Menu icon Menu

Kids Climbing
The site for UK Kids Climbing information

Climbing hold from Beacon Climbing Ltd

Kids Gear

Reviews

The place to find real-life reviews of kids climbing gear. If you could contribute some information about any kids gear you have or are using, please let me know.

Harnesses

Wild Country Vision Kidz full body harness

Our club has 4 of these which have been used with over 20 children. The harness tie in point is set very high which puts the knot directly in front of the childs face, this also tends to pull the shoulder straps in towards the neck, some kids complain that the are choked while being lowered. The high tie in point also makes it hard for the child to assume the correct lowering position and results in the torso being pulled in towards the wall. The harness is fitted with a horizontal back strap which sits across the lower back and the slightly "larger" kids tell me this strap digs in uncomfortably while being lowered. The harness is well constructed, as you would expect from a prestigious brand like Wild Country, and the load locker buckles make adjusting the size quick and easy. Unfortunately the harness is let down by poor placement of the tie in point. The harness tends to fit the slim taller children better so if your child is shorter than 130 cm or a bit chubby avoid this harness.

With thanks to Richie Walker 19 Aug 2009

Wild Country Vision Kidz

I bought the Wild Country Vizion full body harness from Needle sports as they claimed on their website that it was the most adjustable and would last for a tall kid (which mine appears to be). I have adjusted the harness to the absolute minimum and it just about fits. The rope knot seems to be just at face height though when she rests on the rope which she doesn't like.

"RocknRoll" on UK Climbing forum 28 April 2008

Rock Empire Apache Harness
Bought from Cotswold Outdoor. My son chose them from the selection on the harnesses section of this site and luckily there's a Cotswolds locally that had one. They tell me that that they will not take returned climbing equipment if it's the wrong size for example. Be warned! I'd recommend that you take the child with you for fitting by the experts. He finds it easy to put on and take off himself (once adjusted) and he says it's very comfortable.

I also bought a belay set and an additional anchor strap and screwgate carabiner.

Rob Curry, December 2006


Another Rock Empire Apache review

When my daughter turned four, she was given a Rock Empire Apache harness by a close friend. We found the harness easy to use and being a full harness, it prevented her from tipping upside down. The harness showed little sign of wear when she grew out of it and my son started to use it. The only minor niggle is the sizing said it should of been able to have been used till she was 7 or 8, but she was about 6 when it became too small. The kids never found it uncomfortable and having gear loops was useful, as they like to practice removing gear outdoors and then clip it on to the harness.

Jim Croft. January 2007


Rock boots

Rock Pillars Heroes
I wanted to try to get the same boots as my son was using at Calshot, and it took a while to track these down! However, they seem to be only for groups, and can only usually be bought in 10 or 20 pairs! You could try the supplier in case they have any odd pairs available.

Montrail Grommet
A cool looking boot, with a slightly cheap looking snazzy flame effect on the velcro tab. It had a high cut section around the ankle which may chafe. The boot seemed quite stiff to me, especially the tab. We decided not to buy, so would value a review from users with real experience. Please contact me.

Boreal Ninja Junior
A grown-up looking boot and with the elasticated sides at the ankle, is less likely to chafe. My son has worn them recently, and likes them. We bought the next size up, and even thought they're a little slack, he loves the extra friction they give. I decided on velcro rather than laces for two reasons:

  1. Laces take longer to do up and undo, even though he can successfully tie them.
  2. It's easier to crush their feet without meaning to if you overdo the tightening.

Bought from HitchNHike. Reasonable price and delivered without problem.

All above Rob Curry, December 2006

Remember, please contact me if you have any gear you can review. Thanks!

Top

Noticeboard

For Retailers and Climbing Walls
Kidsclimbing can get you sales and customers, but as a non-profit site, we ask that you contribute a minimum of £10 to Kidsclimbing's charity, The Children's Trust we will then add or restore a link to your products. Check out the Testimonials page to see what responses we're getting from our visitors.
In return, you'll get great exposure for your shop plus an entry in our Caring Companies list.

Children's Trust logo

Find out more about donating


14 Oct 2015

Huge thanks to Cold Mountain Kit for their recent generous donation of £100 to the Kidsclimbing charity the Childrens Trust! See the recent Cold Mountain Kit updates on the Kids Gear pages. Also go to the handy Kids gear page on the Cold Mountain Kit site.
Go to the Caring Companies list


13 April 2015
Big thanks to Brian of the Climbing Works in Sheffield, for your generous donation to Kidsclimbing's charity the Children's Trust! Climbing Works is for those children who love to climb anything or everything, or adults looking for a new sport that is beyond the norm.
Go to the Caring Companies list


24 Oct 2014
Many thanks Stacey & Keith of Adventurous Little Legs, the specialists in outdoor clothing and gear for little adventurers, for your generous donation to Kidsclimbing's charity the Children's Trust!
Go to the Caring Companies list


28 Dec 2013
9 year old boy climbs tallest peak in the Americas!
Find out more...


17 Nov 2013
New Social Media page. Find all the Twitter feeds, Facebook channels and Blogs you need.


03 Nov 2013
Welcome to the new fully revamped Kidsclimbing site! It should be viewable on all devices, such as desktops, tablets and phones. Please let me know if you have any problems on your device, letting me know what device and browser you're using so other users can get a better experience. Thanks!


12 Oct 2013
Many thanks to Cold Mountain Kit for contributing £10 to the Kidsclimbing Charity!


Thanks to our fantastic artist Abi for creating the cool cartoons especially for Kidsclimbing that you can see in our tablet or desktop views of this site.


Secondhand kids gear
Any parents/carers who have second hand/outgrown children's climbing shoes/walking boots please contact me and I'll post them up for sale on the noticeboard.


If you have any comments or questions about this site or you can write a review of any of the gear, please contact me.


Find out more about the Children's Trust


Visit our Caring Companies list


All about Geckos
All about Geckos

All about Geckos (mobile version)

Why is the gecko the symbol of Kidsclimbing?

  1. They have an amazing capacity to climb
  2. They are small, agile and funny
  3. They get everywhere

- Just like kids!

Top

Designed by Rob © 2015 - Broken link? let me know! - Disclaimer - Contact me - Analytics - Cookies - Site powered by 1and1